Posted by: lgatzke | April 8, 2008

Movie Day Part 2 – Mastery

Something I like about blogging is that you can revisit ideas.

In my last post about Movie Day I forgot to mention another important finding. As we were watching the videos, it was discovered that the math for subtracting integers with a number line was wrong. I checked with the students ahead of time to tell them this and asked them if they minded if we used it just the way it was. I wanted to see if students in the class would discover it was wrong. Interestingly they didn’t….at least not without some prompting. It was a good lesson in thinking and questioning and not believing everything we see. It also gave me the opportunity to reteach and clear up some misconceptions (teaching for mastery). This is definitely advantageous. When I give a test, I tend to mark it and move on. Little reteaching goes on and students continue to not master the concept. This group is now going to redo their video and get it right.

Real learning….real fun!


Responses

  1. Good catch. It may take some time, but I like the idea of re-learning a concept. We are so content focused and time bound that this seldom gets done.

  2. I wonder if there is a lesson on media literacy there…We often accept what is printed or published don’t we!!


Leave a comment

Categories